Facebook has denied claims that it tracks its logged out users. Instead the social networking site has been asserting that it uses tracking cookies for personalizing content and better security of the network.

Nik Cubrilovic, an applied scientist from Australia, has alleged that whenever a user logs out of Facebook account the tracking cookies are not deleted. The tracking cookies also keep minors from re-registering themselves with a false birth date. Cookies are set to distinguish when an unauthorized person illegally tries to access another user’s account.

On the contrary after every log out, the site merely alters those cookies instead of removing them. No information we receive when you see a social plug-in is used to target ads, we delete or anonymise this information within 90 days, and we never sell your information.

In a blog post Cubrilovic made public that “Even if you are logged out, Facebook still knows and can track every page you visit.”

No information we receive when you see a social plug-in is used to target ads, we delete or anonymise this information within 90 days, and we never sell your information -Facebook

Facebook modifies tracking cookies:- But Facebook engineer Gregg Stefancik commented on Cubrilovic’s thread that Facebook is not chasing its users. However, Stefancik accepted that Facebook indeed modifies the tracking cookies and does not erase it after its users log out.

But, the idea behind it is to meet the safety standards and not to sell users’ personal data, said Stefancik.

Utilities of logged-out cookies:- Meanwhile, Facebook has clarified that using cookies for personalizing content helps learning what users’ friends like and what is popular among them.

The tracking cookies also keep minors from re-registering themselves with a false birth date.

The social network added, “No information we receive when you see a social plug-in is used to target ads, we delete or anonymise this information within 90 days, and we never sell your information.”

Facebook, the world’s most popular social networking site, also explained the importance of logged-out cookies. It said the cookies identify phishing scams and could catch spamming nuisance. An applied scientist from Australia, has alleged that whenever a user logs out of Facebook account the tracking cookies are not deleted. Stefancik accepted that Facebook indeed modifies the tracking cookies and does not erase it after its users log out. Facebook engineer Gregg Stefancik commented on Cubrilovic’s thread that Facebook is not chasing its users. However, Stefancik accepted that Facebook indeed modifies the tracking cookies and does not erase it after its users log out.

Cookies are set to distinguish when an unauthorized person illegally tries to access another user’s account. It essentially helps users retrieving access to account if it’s being hacked.

Article Source: Articles Engine

Here you can get the latest updates about Finance news. Get more details about Finance and investment news .